Clean Slate

New Year

With a new year comes the opportunity to change things in your life. Now don’t get me wrong, if you don’t like the way things are going in your life you have the power to change them at any time. But with that being said, I feel that the new year solidifies the idea behind a new beginning. The holiday season has finally come to a close and it gives you time to reflect on the year that has just pass, the good times, the lessons it has taught you and much more.

Well just like everyone else, I did exactly that and realized just how much I had learned throughout 2014. If anyone would have told me at the beginning of 2014 my year would be as trying as it was I would have laughed because the first five months could not have been more perfect. But like it always does, adversity set in and it decided to stick around for a lot longer than I had planned. For the next seven months I struggled, academically, athletically, socially, and spiritually. While wallowing in my sorrows was necessary for a while, I eventually started to acknowledge the lessons that were being presented to me.

There is a common saying that goes, “Lessons don’t go away until they teach you what you need to know”, and let’s just say I’m hard headed because my lessons stuck around for a while. If 2014 taught me anything it was these three statements.

1. Good things take time.

Whether it is friendships, relationships, moving up at your job, anything, it will take time, especially if you want it to be of substance and special. My relationships with people from first year to second year have changed significantly, partly because I know them better than I did before. Knowing someone is something you simply cannot rush. Time moves at the same speed whether you are wishing it away or hoping that it sticks around a little longer.

2. You can’t miss what is for you, and what is for you cannot miss you.

If only I knew then what I know now. I feel that a large part of my unhappiness last year came from trying to make something out of nothing. Wanting things to go my way that I was probably better off without having in my life. This statement reminded me that I can only rely on the timing of God and that He is always on time. Also, it helped me to remember that His plan for me might be different than the plan I have for myself and that He is planning great things in my life but He must prepare me for them before I can receive. (Proverbs 3:5&6)

3. When you realize where your true worth lies people’s opinions of you can be looked at as exactly that, opinions, not definitions of you.

I’m still defining this lesson myself, but here is the best way I can explain it. If someone showed you a $100 bill would you want it? Yes. If someone took that same $100 bill and dragged it through mud, tore it almost in half and had it sitting in the toilet of a public bathroom (gross I know) would you still want it? Yes. But why? You would want it simply because you know the value of a $100 bill. The bill does not lose it’s value simply because of what it has been through, what it looks like and its current circumstances. You are that $100 bill. You don’t lose value simply because of your less than spectacular circumstances and you don’t gain value because everything is working in your favor. You maintain your value because God created you that way and nothing worldly can take away from that. (Ephesians 1:4)

With all of this being said I hope that you all can take these lessons that I have learned and at least think over them. Lessons are meant to change your perspective and it is safe to say that mine was forever altered in 2014.

