Champion

Champion

For anyone who may be experiencing tough times…

“We fall down sometimes, but we get right back up again because the ground is no place for a champion.” – Jesse Jackson

This past week I was on spring break and was able to enjoy the luxury of relaxation. So how did I relax? Well, like many people these days, I was glued to Netflix.

Skipping past Orange Is The New Black, High School Musical and other popular content on Netflix, I scrolled to a genre that contained 30 for 30 documentaries. If you know anything about me, you know I can watch 30 for 30 films all day, so it was the perfect storm; no school, no plans, just Netflix.

While I watched many documentaries, the one on the Youngstown Boys caught my eye. It was about the Ohio State football team and more specifically Maurice Clarett, their star tailback in 2003. I won’t give the documentary away in hopes that you will take some time to watch it if you get a chance, but I was able to pull out one powerful message from that film. It was the quote from Jesse Jackson written above.

If you have ever gone through a tough time or are currently going through one, I hope you find comfort in this post.

Life can be crazy sometimes. One minute you’re doing fine and the next minute it feels like your world, or what is left of it, is slipping through your fingers faster than sand in your hand on a windy day at the beach.

We’ve all experienced something, that we felt we would never recover from. Something that has shaken our world so much, we became numb to the thought that this is life and we are living it. But it is just that, we are living; therefore, we are succeeding because every day that we get on this Earth is an opportunity to get it right, to turn things around and to start anew.

I may not know what each and every one of you is going through, but I do know that if you are reading this, you matter, and you have to believe that. You have to know that you are strong enough to get through whatever obstacle(s) might be in your path, and that “your present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in you” (Romans 8:18).

It’s always easy to give up, but mustering up enough character to get through whatever you are going through is well worth the pain. Picking yourself up off the ground that you hit time and time again is important. Why  you ask? Because the ground is no place for a champion like yourself. Know that there will be light at the end of your tunnel, but you have to get up and continue to look forward to see it.

Be blessed.

