Body Image

Body Image

Have you ever realized that the one thing you want to change most about yourself is the one thing that makes you unique?

Recently I have had many conversations with people about body image. Whether it was covering eating disorders and how they can be sparked by irrational thoughts about body image in my “Counseling Student Athletes” class, or talking to some of my friends about how they view their bodies, many of my conversations have touched on this topic.

It’s hard not to think about how we look these days. Just open up any magazine and pictures of the “perfect body” smack you in the face with every turn of the page. But who is to say that is the only way we should look? Who said that the pictures we see are the standard? They are not even the reality!

If every magazine was required to state whether they photoshop, retouch, or change any aspect of their photos, I feel that we would have a different view on what the media tells us is perfect.

We must realize that perfection comes in many shapes and sizes. We are all made in the image of God, so if that is not perfection I don’t know what is. To not love and embrace what He has given us is to reject Him and all of His glory.

Not everyone has the same body type. Not everyone has the same strengths and weaknesses, but together we all bring something new and unique to the table. When it comes to our bodies, especially in sports, what one person’s body can do sets them apart from the rest.

You have to start looking at yourself as an asset and believing that God made you this way for a reason; your build was not a mistake. Some people will never be size zero, myself included, but with that being said, my size has allowed me to excel on the basketball court as a forward. I can’t say that would be the case if I was shaped differently.

To say the least, I do not appreciate the media for idealizing body types and make people feel inferior for not achieving a look that even their own models cannot achieve. But I do think that as a person who loves myself for who I am and how God made me, I can inspire others to do the same.

I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. – Psalm 139:14

Be blessed!

