Graduation ’15

Graduation

When you are a freshman, people graduate. When you are a sophomore, people you know graduate. When you are a junior people you know and love graduate. But when you’re a senior, it’s finally your turn.

Having just completed my sophomore year I fall into the category of people I know graduating, and while I thought it wouldn’t be a big deal to me, it is actually tough to see people I know leave the University of Virginia.

Having known most of the graduates for about two years, I can do nothing but be proud of them as they collect their degrees, wear the honor of honors, and embark on the next chapter in their lives. But at the same time sadness comes over me as I realize that they will no longer walk the grounds of Virginia with me as an undergraduate again.

Fortunately, not all of my friend in the class of 2015 are leaving me! A few are pursuing masters degrees at the university so we get at least one more year together!

But with all of this being said, the biggest thing that I will take away from this year’s 2015 graduating class, is to cherish the moments you have with people you care about.

Yes, we all probably have heard this before, but as I enter my junior year this fall and realize that the majority of my friends are rising seniors, I will definitely keep this lesson in the forefront of my mind.

Watching next year’s 2016 graduating class go might hurt just as much or more as seeing the class of 2015 graduate, but I plan to live in the moment, tell my friends how much they mean to me, and create and document our memories to ensure that when it is all said and done, I can say I did not take our precious time together for granted.

To the UVA class of 2015, you will be greatly missed. You helped to hold our community together during a trying year at the university and for that I am grateful.

To the class of 2016, it’s your turn now, but until then, happy summer!

