Just Do It

Just Do It

If you ever get the opportunity to do something you’ve never done before, do it.

This past week I moved to DC to start a new internship with ESPN’s Around The Horn. I’ve never lived in a city. I’ve never navigated a city by foot or metro. I’ve never really worked a day in my life. Trust me, the list goes on. But despite my inexperience I did it anyways.

Let’s just say that it has not been the easiest transition. Moving cities, navigating new streets, getting used to new people and places are all hard things, but getting out of your comfort zone might be exactly what you need to do so that you can grow as a person.

The chances of you growing while in your comfort zone are slim to none. Why would you grow? You already know everything. But once you step out you are now available and open to learning so much more.

This move to DC has taught me a lot so far. It has taught me to be even more independent than I was before, how to support and take care of myselfhow to budget and has given me a working experience that cannot be paralleled.

My challenge: If you get the opportunity to do something that you’ve never done before, do it. Yes, it will probably be scary. Yes, you might struggle, you might even fail, but I promise the outcome is worth far more than the anxiety or feelings that might be holding you back from reaching your potential or moving you forward as a person.

Nike said it best, “Just do it”!

