Love Wins

Love

Two days ago on June 26th, 2015 gay marriage was legalized in America. So what is it like to be in America today?

Well, lets just say that there are a lot of positive thoughts surrounding this topic. Finally, a basic right has been met.

Now I’m not really one to put my opinion out there because I believe we live in a world where people find it so hard to coexist with others that do not share their own opinion. Agreeing to disagree or entertaining the opinions of others without believing them seems nearly impossible for some.

With that being said, her we go…

Personally, I am very happy for this change in history, because I can confidently say that on June 26th, 2015 I was on the right side of history. Two days ago millions of Americans were given the right to marriage, which in turn means that they are given the right for their love to be recognized.

This is the right side of history because instead of discriminating against people for being different, we have made one of the biggest moves towards tolerance.

But this is what confuses me. In the midst of what I believe should be a joyful moment for a minorities gain of a fundamental right, there are many people that just don’t think it’s enough.

For the ones who disagree with this Supreme Court ruling, this post isn’t for you; I understand but do not support your point of view. But I am talking to the people who think this isn’t enough.

Recently I have seen a bunch of posts, political cartoons,etc. talking about, “Now if they could just legalize being black in America…”

I get the idea of pushing the government to remember that there are other troubles in America that need to be recognized as well. Trust me when I say, as a black female living in America, I definitely understand where these posts are coming from. But my thoughts towards these posts come from a different perspective.

Rome wasn’t built in a day, and when it comes to America and it’s progress in accepting minorities whether they are minorities in race, gender, sexual preference, etc. well I would say Rome wasn’t build in a millennium. With that being said, though the progress is slow, we are making progress nonetheless.

I would also say that it’s not what you say, it’s how you say it. “Legalize being black in America.” Yes I get it that, though it is legal to be black in America, most of the time it doesn’t feel that way. But just as people of color encounter this the LGBTQ community will still encounter a set of their own problems.

Gay marriage is legal now, but that doesn’t take away people’s thoughts towards gay people. If someone didn’t like the ideas of gay people and gay marriage before June 26, 2015, I don’t expect them to be gay marriages biggest supporter on June 27th, 2015 or honestly any time soon after that.

Being black in America has been legal for years and we still encounter problems. Being gay in America has been legal and now being gay and married in America has been legal as of two days ago, yet there will still be people who are not in support of LGBTQ rights.

I’m sure gay people will have those days where they feel like saying, “Now only if they can legalize being LGBTQ in America.”

So while the papers are signed and a new and wonderful law has been passed, only so much has changed.

Sometimes America doesn’t fall short because of it’s government (even though they play a large part), it falls short because of it’s citizens, and if you put the two together you get what we have today.

I’m happy for the progress America made on June 26th, 2015, but I like everyone else I am not sold on it.

I am not only asking for the fair treatment of blacks but the fair treatment of every minority.

