Speak Up

Speak Up

Adult (noun) – a glorified child

Recently I have realized that somewhere between kindergarten and the real world, people forget about the golden rule.

“Treat others the way you want to be treated.”

As easy as that rule is to follow, many do not follow it. They try to cover it up with excuses like, “I’m the one in authority. I’m in charge.” Well, at this point I don’t care.

For me, your age means nothing to me, but the respect between us does. I am the type of person to give someone as much respect as they give me if not more, but as soon as I feel disrespected I will speak up about it.

Sometimes when I speak up it might seem like I have crossed the line, but is it really crossing the line if some already has? By no means am I saying that two wrongs make a right, but I am saying, “If you are silent about your pain, they’ll kill you and say you enjoyed it”.

This is why I am rarely apologetic for what I say. I might feel badly about the tone I said it in or the way it was perceived, but rarely for what I actually say, because what people say isn’t an accident.

“It came out wrong”… no no, none of that.

What we say is a direct reflection of how we feel and the point we are trying to get across at that given moment. Sometimes we surprise ourselves. Maybe it didn’t come off the way you thought it would. Maybe it was too harsh, opinionated, too something, but it wasn’t wrong.

I’m sure we’ve all been told to watch what we say and hold our tongues, and I believe there is a time and place for both actions. ON the same token, sometimes holding back isn’t the answer.

To shy away from candid and emotional moments is wrong in my opinion. To not speak your mind, especially when standing up for yourself, is not right either.

We live in a society where everyone is trying to save face and very few allow us to see human error, mistakes or even genuine emotion  because perfect is the way to be. Isn’t that exhausting?

Speaking your mind and standing up for yourself is not you being anything less than perfect, it is you being real. Often because of societies rules, things will happen and instead of speaking up about them we keep to ourselves, because society says…

Well society isn’t the one going through life like you do everyday. Society isn’t the one who got disrespected. Society isn’t going to have to live with the consequences, good or bad, of you staying quiet or speaking up.

The point that I want to get across is to never put yourself or your feelings on the back burner just to fit the mold of what “people” say is the right way to act, speak, etc.

If you do not stand up for you, who will?

My mother always said, :Do what you can live with”. If you can live with people crossing your line, then by all means, stay quite about it. But if you can’t then quiet is not the way to go.

Sometimes you have to teach people how to treat you. Don’t be afraid to do that.

