Family and Fr-amily

Family

Friday of this past week was my birthday and I was fortunate enough to have spent it at home with my family. It had been a while since I had been able to celebrate my special day with them and with everything that has been going on in my life, it really got me thinking once again about what I am grateful for.

For me, if this past year, or even the recent months, have taught me anything it is that I am so fortunate to have a family like I do. To have a support system as strong as they are is truly a blessing. I really don’t deserve the love they give me sometimes, but to know that they are always there is reassuring.

To add to that, I am thankful for my closest friends: Raeshaun, Andrea, Wes, and Breyana. While my immediate family has always been there for me and always will be, I am fortunately to have picked up a few additions to the family along the way.

They say friends are the family you choose and it is better to have four quarters than 100 pennies, and I agree. These people are my four quarters.

It is rare to have people come along and care for you like your family does, but I am lucky to have found them, and they continue to bless my life as our friendships grow.

My biggest take away from being able to spend time with my family during my birthday is that once again, I have solidified what is most important to me.

It is not uncommon to get confused or sidetracked on your priorities given the world we live in, but for me I know that family is most important to me. They are most important to me because I am most important to them even when I don’t deserve their love.

