Choose Happy

Happy

Rushing through the all too familiar Charlotte airport I was heading to my gate, E36 A.

After a weekend at home with my family I couldn’t help but feel a little disappointed that I was going back to Charlottesville. These days it’s like I only see my family in glimpses. It’s such a tease. I see them, finally get comfortable and then I have to leave.

As I walked through the airport with thoughts of the day’s to-do-list, a lady who manned a food stand was yelling, “Welcome to the happy zone. Happiness is a choice and I choose to be happy.” While she was louder than most, she probably was not actually yelling. But in an airport where people are anti-social and rarely exchange words with each other, the sound of her voice seemed to be the main thing filling everyone’s ears in the hallway.

I continued to walk by briskly, focused straight ahead as if I had not seen or heard her, and rolled my eyes. But as I walked away I thought about what she said.

“Happiness is a choice and I chose to be happy.”

Too often we trick ourselves into thinking that we have less control of our lives than we actually do. Many, if not all, of the things we do on a daily basis are decisions. So what if next time we chose to be thankful instead of complain? What if we chose to take responsibility instead of blaming things on others? What if we said hello instead of ignored one another? What if we decided to see the good in everything instead of searching for the bad?

What if we chose to be happy? Wouldn’t that make life just a little bit brighter?

