Where does your confidence lie?

Confidence

It had been a very long day. It was supposed to be my off day full of rest, relaxation, and productivity, but it had been hectic from start to finish.

My day from start to finish

  1. I’m in season so I barely have time to do homework.
  2. This was the third day I had been without my car.
  3. I had to walk 20 minutes to class in the pouring rain.
  4. Most of my homework was incomplete.
  5. The classes I wanted to register for were full with no wait list.
  6. I had to spend my down time going to teachers’ office hours and begging to be enrolled in their classes… none of them could help me.
  7. I filmed as the sports anchor for our campus news show and was terrible. I struggled mightily to read the teleprompter.
  8. I had to walk 25 minutes home from the library at night.

As you can see my day was a lot less than perfect. At the end of the day I noticed a missed call from my mom so I called her back. From there I began to explain my awful day, but her responses were not enough. I don’t know what I was looking for her to say. I’m not sure if anything she would have said would have sufficed at the time. Regardless, whatever she was saying wasn’t enough.

I feel that often times a lot of what people say is not enough for me anymore. People will give advice for my situation, but yet my problems are never resolved and my frustrations grow. Why does this happen?

For me, this happens because sometimes I find myself putting my confidence in flesh rather than the Lord. Recently, I learned a hard lesson. Even my mother is flesh.

That day I was looking to my mother to solve all my problems, show sympathy, etc, and she couldn’t. Even if she did it probably would not have been enough for me. But God’s grace and love is.

Fortunately, God surrounds us with good support systems. The friends you have, the family members that always support you are all gifts from God, but that should not be the reason you do not seek Him in your times of trouble.

“If someone else thinks they have reasons to put confidence in the flesh, I have more.” – Philippians 3:4

God stated it there. Why have confidence in flesh when you can put your confidence in who made the flesh. This is not to say that I am not thankful for my mom and how she listened to me that day, but I learned that I cannot look to people to fix and understand my problems. In this world everyone is going through something, but the only way to find peace in your situations is to seek the Lord not man.

 

