One Viral Tweet

Elections

We’ve all seen things go viral on the Internet, from the TZ anthem to the mannequin challenge to even the “Damn Daniel” videos. But what happens when you go viral? On November 1st, 2016 I found out. “Go viral” was never on my bucket list, but let’s just say I wrote it down and checked it off all in the same day.

Every election year it’s the same thing. You love one candidate and hate the other. It’s not uncommon to hear flamboyant, radical, and sometimes even violent comments about each party and candidate that people do not agree with. This year has been no different. But considering I am not one for violence and I enjoy a solid laugh from time-to-time, I decided to use passive aggressive comedy instead of vulgar.

Here’s how the story goes… I was out to dinner with my teammates, tweeted my soon to be viral tweet, went home, went to bed and woke up to 6K likes and retweets. Mind you I only had 700, maybe 750 followers at the time. Today that tweet sits at 140K retweets and 200K likes. It’s safe to say I gave a lot more than just my closest friends a good laugh on Twitter.

But while I have received, tweets, texts and messages congratulating me on my viral tweet, I will be the first one to say that, what I tweeted has been around for years. It was around last election and clearly it has not gone away. I simply thought that it was extremely fitting for this election.

While the tweet was quite passive aggressive towards the election on whichever candidate you think I’m not voting for, ultimately my message was to VOTE… and of course set your clocks back. While I have my opinion on who should be president and what candidate might set our country back, I believe everyone else should as well. At the end of the day, this election will affect all of our futures and I think you’d be crazy to not have an opinion about your own future. We can agree to disagree on who is best, but nothing bothers me more than a passionate citizen who isn’t even registered.

I don’t know how many people I have talked to that have such strong opinions on which candidate should win, or their plans to flee the country if the “wrong” candidate does, but when asked a simple question, “Are you registered,” they answer “No”. This includes the registered voter who has no intention of actually making it to the polls during early voting or on Tuesday, November 8th. How can you be so passionate about a topic that you don’t even have a say in?

During a time when many people are questioning their “rights” as Americans and if they’re voices will ever be heard, I’m here to tell you that Tuesday is the first step to letting your voice be heard. It is your right, to vote for what you believe is just and who you feel is best fit to lead, and by choosing not to, you are willingly giving up your right and your voice. No one is stopping you from voting this Tuesday but yourself; therefore, no one is silencing you but yourself.

If you’re not registered, that’s unfortunate, and I’m sorry you can’t participate in one of our countries greatest traditions, but for those of you who can, please do!

Vote because it is our duty as Americans, vote because you want your voice to be heard, vote because that can be the start of change, and if you feel so strongly, vote because you don’t want to set your country back 50 years.

Vote, because if you don’t you can’t complain.

